Water is Life

mineral-water-lime-ice-mint-158821.jpeg

70% of our bodies comprise of water. Like most of us, I like feeling energetic throughout the day to accomplish my day with satisfaction. I have been on a non water drinking journey and closely monitoring the effects of not hydrating my body. Its noteworthy to mention that I love drinking water and fluids and this has been part of me for a while now, but I decided to do this test as the only way to check is using my body as a laboratory of sorts. I am sharing this real life experience to show how hydrating our bodies through out the day is key to being healthy.

For a start, I take water first thing after waking up, on my test day, I did not drink my usual big glass of lemon water, this led to me being very hungry during breakfast and I ate almost double my usual breakfast portion. At 10AM, I was feeling rather lethargic and hungry. I craved cookies, samosa or mandazi. But, due to the fact that I was conscious of my actions, instead I drank a tall glass of water and all these feelings subsided. The feelings of lethargy and feeling like I needed to eat something were on and off the whole day. At some point in the afternoon, I felt a slight headache which was not going away. I did this experiment for three days denying myself the much needed glass of water at various intervals during the day. These are the effects I felt for lack of hydration:-

  • Lethargy
  • Hunger pangs
  • Craving carbs and sugar
  • Headache
  • Feeling Light headed
  • Dry mouth and throat

After the experiment, i gradually increased my water intake to about two litres a day to enjoy all the benefits of hydration. I also incorporated some herbal This is what i learned:

  • Don’t wait until you are thirsty to drink water, if you feel thirsty, your body is already dehydrated
  • Thirst can be experienced as a mild hunger, when feeling hungry at 10am reach out for your water bottle
  • Digestion improved
  • Increase in energy
  • Drinking water will keep you lean, you will avoid junking and munching on snacks
  • Drinking water throughout the day flushes out toxins and excess fat out of the body
  • Water is the number one antidote to wrinkles
  • The common phrase ‘ 8 glasses of water per day’ is the bare minimum, target 12 – 16 glasses of water a day for optimum health.
  • You will notice you use the bathroom more often, goal is to have clear urine by lunchtime.

Tips to drink more water

  • Get a water bottle that you can take with you everywhere you go – stainless steel is better than plastic due to carcinogenic pollutants from plastic that can leach into water. Let your water bottle be second to nature to you.
  • If you dislike to wake up to pee at night, stop drinking water an hour before bedtime
  • Eat water rich foods; raw fruits and vegetables like apples, strawberries, grapes, water melons, cucumber to also increase your daily intake of water. Try eat these with every meal and snack.
  • If you easily get bored with water, try natural flavored or sparkling waters but avoid artificial sweeteners, high sodium, high fructose, or anything artificial.
  • Make your water tasty
    • add lemon or lime – great detox
    • add cucumbers to add refreshing flavor or peppermint for a cooling effect
    • add slices of fruit to a jug of water and store in the fridge overnight for great flavors and taste.
    • Drink herbal teas with hot water, they will add on antioxidants, avoid adding sugar

teacup-cup-of-tea-tee-drink-428615.jpeg

 

 

 

Leave a comment